top of page
Search
  • Lwazzie

DISTANCE LEARNING

Updated: Jul 2, 2022

After my time at the local university, I left for University of Wollongong (UOW)

Over at UOW, I took up Computer Science: Game and Mobile Development.

As of September 2021, I am happy to announce that I am now a bachelor's Graduate. :-)


I only went through the remaining 1.5 year (out of the usual 3 year course) due to heavy exemptions. With comparison to what I've done previously (back in local university), there are a number of differences:


There is no "GPA", there is only "WAM"

What is WAM? WAM is Weighted Average Mark. The formula used is simply: Sum of (subject credit * mark) / sum of (subject credit)


There are no semesters, only quarters

Each academic session is approximately 3 months. First 2 months were theory and practical lessons, class tests, projects and assignments. 3rd month -- the actual theory examinations.


In any quarter, we are only allowed to take up maximum of 2 modules

Yes, you read that right. To put it in context, in a normal academic year, I would only be allowed to take up and complete 8 modules.


Modules I was exempted from

CSIT127 Networks and Communications

CSIT226 Human Computer Interaction

CSIT111 Programming Fundamentals

CSIT113 Problem Solving

CSIT114 System Analysis

CSIT115 Data Management and Security

CSIT121 (Prerequisite: CSIT111) Object Oriented Design and Programming

CSIT128 Introduction to Web Technology

CSIT214 (Prerequisite: CSIT114) IT Project Management

MATH221 Mathematics for Computer Science

CSCI203 (Prerequisite: CSIT110 or CSIT111 + CSIT113) Algorithms and Data Structures

Modules that I have completed

CSCI235 (Prerequisite: CSIT115) Database Systems (April 2020)

CSIT110 Fundamental Programming with Python (April 2020)

CSCI251 (Prerequisite: CSIT121) Advanced Programming (July 2020)

ISIT204 Principles of eBusiness (July 2020)

CSIT314 (Prerequisite: CSIT214, 12 CP 200 Level CSCI) Software Development Methodologies (Sep 2020)

CSCI322 Systems Administration (Sep 2020)

CSCI336 (Prerequisite: CSCI251) Interactive Computer Graphics (Jan 2021)

CSCI236 (Prerequisite: 36 CP, 100 Level) 3D Modelling and Animation (Jan 2021)

CSCI376 (Prerequisite: CSCI251, 12 CP 200 Level CSCI) Multicore and GPU Programming (April 2021)

CSIT321 Final Year Project (April 2021 & July 2021)

CSCI356 (Prerequisite: CSIT121,CSIT214) Game Engine Essentials (July 2021)


** I would take probably another few more posts to explain the individual modules another time :)


What are your takeaways

I have completed my duration of studies during COVID19 peak season so most of my learning was done online. In comparison to local university, definitely, workload was way manageable and professors are more keen and interested in helping me out whenever I had doubts or any questions that needed clarifications. For theoretical and practical concepts, I would not describe them as "easy" but rather as "tedious". To me, programming is something that "just works" for me so although I would empathize that there are certain challenges and difficulties while working on resolving issues, it would never be impossible to do.


With that being said, I did return to campus for some demonstration of my assignments and practical lab lessons. In whatever short stint of 1.5 year that I had, I had also joined the student council where I had the opportunity to organize and plan for the Winter Orientation for the freshman. There were also other activities like Initiation Night and Board Games Day that gave me the opportunity to return to school, utilize the facilities and network in person.


Would you recommend going for a distance learning university vs going for local university?

As someone who has experienced both, I would say you need to explore, research and find out what is it that you want for yourself. It is always easy for the general public to say "Oh you should pick A over B because blahblahblah", but you need to take some time and give some thought to what is it that you truly want.

Due to my personal struggles, inability to pass certain modules and the environment that I was in, I chose to move and pursue something else. With that being said, I do not regret going to local university and going through my initial 1.5 years. I continued to use that "I must work hard and do well" mentality up to this day as well.


:) Lwazzie out x

Recent Posts

See All

Why IT?

Where do I even begin? It all started when I was a child introduced to the world of computers or did it genuinely start when my second uncle first introduced World of Warcraft (WoW) to me? That's a qu

bottom of page